Wang family excellence award

Download 21.57 Kb.
Size21.57 Kb.
The CSU System Rules:

  1. Each campus president annually may nominate one probationary or tenured faculty member from each of the following academic discipline groups:

Visual and Performing Arts and Letters

Art, Music, Theatre Arts, Dance

Foreign Languages

English, Comparative Literature



Linguistics, Speech Communication

Philosophy, Religious Studies

Natural Sciences, Mathematical and Computer Sciences, and Engineering

Biology, Biochemistry, Ecology, Microbiology, Genetics, Toxicology

Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy, Geology, Earth Science, Meteorology


Mathematics, Statistics

Computer Science, Information Systems

All forms of Engineering

Environmental Science
Social and Behavioral Sciences, and Public Services

Psychology, Human Development

Public Administration, Recreation Administration

Social Work, Gerontology

Deaf Studies

Criminal Justice/Criminology

Fire Protection Administration

Anthropology, Archeology




Political Science, International Relations


Ethnic Studies (including Asian American Studies, African American Studies, Native American Studies, Mexican American/Chicano/Latino Studies)

Urban Studies

Labor Studies

Cultural Resources Management

Area Studies (including American Studies, Asian Studies, European Studies, etc.),

Women's Studies
Education, and Professional and Applied Sciences Fields

Professional Preparation of Teachers, Curriculum and Instruction, Educational Leadership/Administration, Special Education

Speech Pathology and Audiology/Communicative Disorders

Library and Information Science


Kinesiology/Physical Education

Industrial Arts, Industrial Technology

Agriculture, Agronomy, Soil Science, Animal Science, Horticulture

Dietetics/Nutritional Science, Forestry, Natural Resources Management

Architecture, Environmental Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture

Urban/Rural/Regional Planning

Business (including Accounting, Marketing, Management, Finance, Hospitality Management, Human Resources Management, etc.)

Public Relations, Journalism, Mass Communication, Radio-TV-Film, Advertising

Health Science, Nursing, health Care Management, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Public Health, Genetic Counseling, Biomedical Clinical Science, Radiological Health Physics

Family and Consumer Sciences, Child Development, Apparel Merchandising and Management

Marine Transportation

  1. Nominated faculty must have participated successfully in a campus peer-academic administrative review process no earlier than the 2003-2004 academic year. The review processes referred to here are the retention, tenure, and promotion process, or faculty merit award of teaching, research, or scholarship grant processes, and the like.

  1. Each nomination shall be accompanied by a current resume or curriculum vitae. Additional documentation is limited to five single-spaced, single-sided typed pages. A letter from the campus president of no more then two pages should accompany each nomination.

  1. Criteria: “Awards will be made to those who have made truly remarkable contributions to the advancement of their respective universities and/or the CSU system. Nominees should have a demonstrated record of unusually meritous achievements documented by evidence of superior accomplishments and contributions to the discipline or achievements in an assignment. The activities must advance the mission of the university, bring benefit and credit to the CSU, and contribute to the enhancement of the CSU’s excellence in teaching, learning, research, scholarly pursuits, student support and community contributions.”

The CSULB Rules for 2005-2006:

  1. The Faculty Personnel Policies Council shall forward to the President the name of at least one nominee in each of the four categories named above.

  1. This selection shall be based upon an evaluation of the materials submitted to the FPPC by 5:00 P.M. on Monday, December 12, by those nominated in one or more of the following ways:

Automatic Nominees:

-- Winners of the Distinguished Teaching Award in the specified

time period (i.e., no earlier than the 2001-2002 academic year).

-- Winners of the Distinguished Scholarly and Creative

Achievement Award in the specified time period.

-- Winners of the Nicholas P. Hardeman Academic Leadership Award

in the specified time period.

-- Winners of the Outstanding Professor Award in the specified

time period.

Other Nominees:
-- individuals nominated by departments, college faculty councils, deans

or student groups, using processes devised by them for this


  1. Please submit (1) your current resume or curriculum vita, and (2) additional documentation limited to five (5) single-spaced, single-sided pages, in electronic format as an e-mail attachment to Kelly Janousek, Chair, Faculty Personnel Policies Council, at Please put "Wang Award" and your name in the subject line of your e-mail. Please use one of the following formats: .doc (Word Document) or .rtf (Rich Text) for electronic documents.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright © 2020
send message

    Main page