Unit 4: Mexican Texas Colonization Through Rebellion against Spanish Rule in the Early 1800s

Mexican Federal Constitution of 1824

Download 25.26 Kb.
Size25.26 Kb.
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11
Mexican Federal Constitution of 1824 – This is the constitution written after Mexico’s independence from Spain. The republic took the name of United Mexican States, and was defined as a representative federal republic with Catholicism as the official religion. The constitution also created the state of Coahuila y Tejas, merging the two provinces of Texas and Coahuila. Texas was not organized as a separate state because of its small population. The State Colonization Law of 1825 allowed Stephen F. Austin and other empresarios to receive land grants in Texas. Other empresarios included Martin De Leon, a Mexican empresario who settled 200 Mexican families in South Texas (between the Lavaca and Guadalupe River). He and his wife founded the town of Victoria in 1824; Green DeWitt, an important American empresario who settled 166 families in the area near present-day Gonzales. After permitting slavery (1821), and then forbidding sale or purchase of slaves (1823), the Mexican authorities in Texas outlawed the introduction of additional slaves and granted freedom at birth to all children born to a slave in 1827. Overall, Texans were satisfied with the Mexican Constitution of 1824 because of the rights and freedoms it gave them.

Download 25.26 Kb.

Share with your friends:
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11

The database is protected by copyright ©essaydocs.org 2022
send message

    Main page