The Seasons of the year: Hay cuatro estaciones en el año

Download 17.99 Kb.
Size17.99 Kb.
The Seasons of the year:

Hay cuatro estaciones en el año.









el verano

el otoño


Note that the articles are normally used with the seasons.

En América del Norte, la primavera empieza en marzo.
In North America, spring begins in March.

En América del Sur, la primavera empieza en septiembre.

In South America, spring begins in September.

When we are just entering spring, or primavera, in the Spanish-speaking world south of the equator, they are beginning autumn, or otoño. No matter where they live, Spanish-speaking people continue celebrating their love of life. The festivals and celebrations which occur during this time of the year are Easter, Cinco de Mayo, a couple of independence days, and, of course, Mothers’ Day.

Christians are preparing for la Pascua Florida, sometimes called la Pascua de Resurrección, or, as we call it, Easter. Easter is celebrated on the first Sunday after the first full moon after the vernal equinox. But Easter is not just a day, it is a whole series of events including the carnival period leading up to Semana Santa (Holy Week), miércoles de ceniza (Ash Wednesday), and domingo de Pascua (Easter Sunday). The season begins with Carnival. This period is marked by great merrymaking and feasting before the period of Lent. Carnival actually means, "to do away with meat." Carnivals are celebrated with pageants and parades in many countries. The festivities come to a head on Shrove Tuesday or what is called in the United States, Mardi Gras. Shrove Tuesday is right before Ash Wednesday. On this day, people attend a special mass in the Catholic Church and get a cross of ashes put on their forehead. You may have seen some people with this on their heads, or you may have gotten some yourself. Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent, what is called in Spanish Cuaresma. Cuaresma looks like the number cuarenta, or forty. Lent is a forty-day period before Easter during which people pledge to give up something that they enjoy in order to show their devotion to the church.

The final week of Lent is known as Semana Santa, or Holy Week. Semana Santa commemorates the final week of Christ’s life and is marked by grand processions through the streets of the cities. The processions often carry statues or icons representing the suffering of Christ.

May 5th, Cinco de Mayo, celebrates the battle of Puebla during the Mexican War of Independence from France.
Paraguay and Cuba celebrate their Independence Days on May 14th and 20th respectively.

Finally, May is the month when people celebrate el Día de las Madres, Mothers’ Day. Just as here in the United States, people love their mothers and recognize one day a year as special. Here in the U.S. we always mark the second Sunday in May. In Mexico and many other countries they have identified the day as May 10.

R. Scott Morris, Spanish Television Teacher
Download 17.99 Kb.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright © 2022
send message

    Main page