Napoleon’s Greatest Gamble: The Invasion of Russia (1812) Campaigns of the Napoleonic Wars vol. I



Download 0.92 Mb.
Page12/31
Date28.02.2021
Size0.92 Mb.
1   ...   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   ...   31

10. Combat (Overview)

10.1 Combat involves issuing an order to some or all of the units in any one (1) stack (the “attacking stack”) to attack an enemy stack on an immediately adjacent hex (the “defending stack”). All of the units in the attacking stack, not just those which are to attack, must be undisrupted. All the units to which the order is given must attack the same enemy stack. A stack under a “forage marker” may not attack nor support an attack [Rule 8.7].


10.2 Having given the order the attacking player may allocate a number of CCs to the attack up to the amount he/she has remaining for the Turn. He/she then rolls 1xd6. If the result is one (1) the attack is deemed to have failed [proceed to Rule 10.7]. Otherwise, if the result plus any CC(s) and plus the CR of any Commander present in the stack (the highest only if there is more than one (1) Commander) is equal to or greater than seven (7) the combat goes ahead as planned. If it is less, the attack is deemed to have failed [proceed to Rule 10.7].
10.3 If the attack goes ahead the attacking player has the option to call upon the support of friendly stacks [“supporting stacks”] immediately adjacent to the defending stack.

10.4 To ascertain whether a supporting stack is able to participate in the attack, the test at Rule 10.2 is applied using the same CC(s), but substituting for each stack the result of a new 1xd6 and the CR of any Commander accompanying that stack (the highest only if there is more than one (1) Commander).


10.5 If the attack goes ahead, the defending player has the option to call upon the support of friendly stacks [“supporting stacks”] immediately adjacent to the defending stack.
10.6 To do so, he/she may allocate a number of CC(s) up to the amount he/she has remaining for the Turn to the defending stack(s). He/she then rolls 1xd6, for each potentially supporting stack, and applies the test at Rule 10.2 separately to each. If the die roll plus the CC(s) and plus the CR of any Commander present (the highest only if the stack has more than one (1) Commander) is equal to or greater than seven (7), the supporting stack may participate in the combat.
Play note: the defending stack itself will automatically be attacked; the allocation of CCs and the dice roll(s) determine only whether potentially supporting stacks may also participate in the combat.
10.7 After the first player has issued an order to attack [Rule 10.2], and any combat which results has been resolved [Rule 11], the second player becomes the attacker and the process is repeated. Once any attack ordered by the second player has been resolved, the first player again becomes the attacker and so on until both players are unable and/or unwilling to order any further attacks for the Turn.
If a player declines to order any attack [Rule 9.5], or fails to do so [Rule 10.2], he/she does not get a further opportunity during “this” Turn. His/her opponent may, however, continue to order attacks until he/she, too, is unwilling to carry on or fails to do so.
Play note: by virtue of the process at Rule 10.2 it is possible that a player will be unable to execute any attacks during a given Turn even though his/her units are immediately adjacent to enemy units and have CC(s) available prior to rolling the dice.
10.8 Subject to Rule 10.2, the same stack can be ordered to attack as many times as a player wishes (with intervening attacks by other stacks if so desired).
10.9 Once both players have failed to carry out an attack [Rule 10.2] or have declined to do so, force march markers are removed [Rule 8.4]. Proceed to Rule 12.
See example Combat (1) at the end of the booklet.




Share with your friends:
1   ...   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   ...   31




The database is protected by copyright ©essaydocs.org 2020
send message

    Main page