Napoleonic Questions Q: ...In the M&S Standard Rules, 8.7 has artillery adding 1 to its range when firing from a Hill. I presume this only applies when firing at a target at a lower elevation (and not Hill-to-Hill)?
A: No, the +1 applies to all targets regardless of altitude. The idea here is that being up on high ground means all the little wrinkles and obstructions at ground level have less impact, even when firing at others up on a plateau or another hill.
As a practical matter, most hills on maps will be small (Marengo is an exception) so it's not likely to be a big issue."
Q: The Austrian units allowed to leave column and enter at 14,15 & 1601 --are they delayed a turn?
A: No (the area west of xx01 was just a flat patch right off the main road).
Q: Multi-hex combat: is it true that units attacking from separate hexes need not be coordinated or from the same formation to attack at full strength?
A: No. All units involved in a given attack must be coordinated; the number of attacking hexes is immaterial. Do note that supporting artillery never needs coordination.
Q: Was surprised to note there is no combat bonus for combined arms --this benefit might become more apparent in the mechanics of the game with further play. Having said that a comment from the designer would be interesting.
A: Design Note. There is no "combined-arms" bonus because at this scale there should be none (and frankly I'm not convinced there ever should be such a thing at any scale). Think of infantry-artillery-cavalry as rock-paper-scissors; each has strengths in certain situations. Infantry is durable and multi-capable in all terrains. Only infantry can truly hold ground, and only infantry can take anything other than clear terrain. Infantry is vulnerable to cavalry in the open; forming square leaves it susceptible to enemy infantry (esp skirmishers) and artillery. Artillery can drive off cavalry fairly easily, but is vulnerable to both enemy infantry and cavalry on defense. Cavalry is brittle but hugely powerful when striking an unprepared or weakened enemy. A player can achieve a combined arms "bonus" bu utilizing the strength of each arm. Infantry establishes a line to protect its artillery. Artillery establishes fire superiority, driving off enemy artillery and cavalry, then weakening enemy infantry through bombardment. Infantry assists the latter by skirmishing, then attacks to seize ground and kill enemy troops. Light cavalry keeps enemy cavalry away from the flanks. Heavy cavalry is poised to charge: at worst, it forces enemy infantry into square, where it is vulnerable; at best, it strikes reduced and/or disrupted enemy infantry that cannot form square in the face of friendly infantry & artillery. Light cavalry pursues, while infantry moves up to occupy the ground taken and form a new line.
Q: 1. In Marengo both sides have to roll for movement of all units. As the Austrians enters their HQ the first turn they also have to roll for MA on Game turn 2. Have I got this right?
A: No. The HQ is flipped to its active side at the end of a movement phase, so the Austrian HQ becomes active prior to Turn 2. However, we do need to add the following piece of errata to the end of the first paragraph of 12.1: "If the HQ does move, it must be the first unit moved during the Movement Phase."
Q: 2. Artillery units may be voluntarily flipped as to increase their movement allowance? If this is so I guess these guys are the foot artillery, and the others are horse, right?
A: I had assumed that if you wanted to move artillery faster you would use March Movement, but I suppose there are situations where you would prefer to use the Ineffective side, so let's say yes, you can flip them voluntarily to get greater speed. I deliberately avoided making special rules about horse artillery; the much greater movement factors handle the ability to move up rapidly and disengage more easily, while the "infantry" March Movement Allowance is more appropriate for long distance movement.
Q: This goes against the rules. HQs only flip if they do not move in a turn. The Austrian HQ has to move on turn one to enter the map; therefore, at the earliest, the Austrian HQ flips at the end of the turn 2 movement phase. The Austrian HQ is not active for other units on turns 1 and 2. It doesn't matter for movement purposes on turn 1 because reenforcements are not effected by HQ status and all Austrian units in play on turn 1 are reenforcements. For those Austrian units that entered the map on turn 1, they'll have to roll a die for their movement on turn 2.
There are no rules for flipping your own units to their "disorganized" side. Also, since a unit must not move at all during a turn to flip back, it takes an entire turn of no movement for the artillery to become "fireable" again.
Is it possible to get a clear rule on how the Austrians can flip their artillery back and fourth?
A: This is an issue that never came up during initial playtesting. After some consideration, players are allowed to render artillery ineffective to get faster movement. Flip the unit to its ineffective side at the beginning of movement. Flipping it back to its effective side does take one full turn, so the greater speed comes at a cost. As a practical matter, the only utility I see in this technique is to allow an artillery unit on or near the front line to make an escape.
Q: One more- where does it say what the MA of Trains and HQ's are?
A: HQ MA = 6, Trains MA = 4. It's on the lower right of the Inactive side. I don't think it actually says that anywhere.
Q: ...It is clear that an artillery suffers ammunition loss if the ammo result comes up on the CRT while it is bombarding or supporting. [Does] the ammo result applies to artillery which is adjacent to the enemy and, if so, does it apply both [when] attacking and defending?
A: The Ammo result applies to attacking artillery only, never to the defender. It applies at all times, whether supporting, bombarding, or fighting alone. Adjacent artillery may not support, but is treated as a regular combat unit (it is affected by all results in addition to "ammo").
Q: I didn't ask my question properly in #33 above. It is clear that an artillery suffers ammunition loss if the ammo result comes up on the CRT while it is bombarding or supporting. What I meant to inquire was if the ammo result applies to artillery which is adjacent to the enemy and, if so, does it apply both attacking and defending?
A: No, artillery engaged in unit-to-unit combat is not affected by the Ammo result; that applies only to bombarding artillery (whether actual bombardment or support fire).
Q: The requirements allowing a unit to skirmish seem very simple - just be two hexes from the target unit and be able to move into its hex. My opponent, Abel K. thinks the following are implied: a. The skirmishing unit can not be adjacent to an enemy unit. b. The intervening hex has to be vacant. We agreed to play our current game with b, but not a. We would also like to confirm that disrupted units can skirmish.
A (skirmishing requirements): Both conditions apply: there must be one intervening hex and it must be unoccupied. There will be some variations on this in future folios to account for specialized skirmishing troops (British rifles, ACW sharpshooters, etc.).
Q: 7.8 Combat Results
Ac or Dc = check for retreat
Entry starts: "If it passes,..."
If it passes what? A morale check? And the "it" is the primary unit?
A: 7.8 Combat Results
Ac or Dc = check for retreat: Change this paragraph to read:
Ac or Dc = check for retreat. Make a morale check for the primary unit of the affected side. If it passes, apply the (parenthesized) result. If it fails, the affect side retreats (as above).
Q: Although the M&S rules are not the hardest rules ever, they are one and possibly two steps up in complexity from the old Napoleon at Waterloo/Napoleon at War/Blue & Gray rules (witness all of the questions my friend and I had about Chickamauga). Also, the standard rules have virtually no illustrations, even though there are rules in the M&S standard rules that will be new to many players. In addition, it appears that the M&S standard rules were forced to be terse to fit into the 8 page limit for the rules. Given their complexity, these rules could easily have been at least 12 pages if they had included a typical amount of examples and illustrations of play. I think this lack of examples and illustrations is going to result in a lot of rules questions (contrary to your confidence that there will be little errata for the system rules).
A: I can't argue about the concentration of the rules, a necessity given the constraints of the Folio games. These rules are the result of decades of tinkering, so yes there is a lot to them. I have folded ideas within one another to make what I hope is a seamless set of rules that reward instinctive play rather than inductive calculation based on rules quirks. That said, there is a learning curve (see the previous comment). I concur wholeheartedly that examples will help, and am preparing a set of one-page pdfs with illustrations to help with some of the more unusual aspects of the game. They will be posted shortly on this site, along with a player aid card. Your patience and support is greatly appreciated.
Q: Was someone able to figure out why the town of Leipzig was "impassable"? Still scratching my head over that one...
A: Units may not come to rest or fight in the city, only pass through. They've added some explanation to the rules regarding that semi-cryptic reference on the map's Terrain Key.
Q: Thats a little strange isn't it?
A: The idea was/is to simulate the awful congestion that unavoidably takes place when you try to move an army of that size into an urban area that congested. Having to stop first, if you don't have the MP to move all the way through at one go, simulates that. Don't forget, there were no freeways running through Napoleonic-era cities.
Q: How is [Leipzig] different from the Leipzig in Napoleon at War quad?
A: The most significant change is that the units were taken down to division and brigade level (a lot more units).
And beyond that, the OOB is substantially more accurate and historical now.
Q: A unit with a parenthesized combat strength needs a leader to enter ZOC but can also enter with an undisrupted unit 6.2. As units move one at a time Rule 4.2 how does that happen?
A: OK, it's a glitch in wording. Units do not move together (unless stacked for a charge), but a parenthesized unit could enter a ZOC if that ZOC already is occupied by an unparenthesized unit. It theoretically is possible to move in the unparenthesized unit first, but why would you want to?
Q: Say 3 units of A are in a hex and there are 3 hexes adjacent with D units in. Can 1 of A's units attack each of the 3 D hexes (assuming they do not retreat? If they can but retreat after 1 attack does D get 2 FOW? If they cannot does D get 2 FOW?
A: Only one attack may be launched out of a single hex in a single turn. Two of the defending units would be unattacked (from that hex). An FOW is awarded for each of those units.
Q: In the previous situation I use an artillery unit to bombard one of the D hexes. Does that reduce the number of attacks required? If it does not then does the defender get the FOW?
A: Depends. If the artillery scores any result (retreat, disruption, step loss, rout) on the defender, then the bombardment counts as an attack. If no result is obtained (a no effect or any attacker result), then the bombardment does not count and the defender does get the FOW. See 8.4, last paragraph.
Q: Again referring to the previous situation, if the there are defending units in each of the six adjacent hexes, would the defender get 5 FOW?
Q: Rule 11.2 (second paragraph) allows units to return to the map if they pass the morale check Rule 13.2 says only units starting the turn in that turn's box on the TRT. Are the rules contradictory?
A: Again, I might have made it more clear (space was an issue in the rules, and I crimped the language as much as possible). If you recover a unit through a rolled replacement, it gets placed on the TRT as though it had been created by a normal replacement. In other words, it comes back the next turn.
Q: I do like the very simple and effective use of ( ) and charge values to show very simply the difference between Napoleonic Armies and CW armies and indeed the evolution of Napoleonic Armies. (I would argue that the Austrians at Leipzig should be ( ) as well so far as Skirmish ability goes).
A: To a point I agree with you; most of the Austrian Line brigades (4-4-3) should be skirmishless. However, believe it or not, I ran out of counter space. The idea Austrian corps would have more counters (roughly double), with a few of them being Jager, light cav, etc. At the scale I had to use, there just wasn't room, so I gave them valid skirmish values to represent the smaller units.
Q: I can see this being used in other periods eg Austro Prussian and Franco Prussian.
A: Wait'll you see Koniggratz. It'll be coming out in S&T, don't know exactly when.
Q: I think that a sheet with examples of some of these new rules would be most helpful perhaps a playthrough of the first few turns of a game could be posted.
A: No argument from me, but I didn't have space in the rules and haven't had time to post anything. Maybe you could do some after you play a few times. Hint, hint.
Q: If doing counters please do the Alternative Leipzig counters
A: The 3rd/Grd should be 0 on the back.
Res-B/5 should have a red stripe on the front.