Memorable moments in the history of the camden classic

Download 6.96 Kb.
Size6.96 Kb.
1980 – Brian Witty narrowly defeats Tony McAvaney in the inaugural 400m Camden Classic.
1982 – Sam Sullivan becomes the first Victorian to win the Camden Classic.
1983 – Frank McHugh becomes the first Bay Sheffield winner (and only one to this point in history) to win the Camden Classic.
1986 – Gerrard Harrison becomes the second interstate athlete to win the Camden Classic.
1987 – John Turner puts his hand up as a victory salute near the finish but is beaten narrowly on the line by middle distance athlete David Woodley.
1989 – Michelle Brus wins the first ever running of the 400m Women’s Classic.
1991 – The Camden Classic Carnival is run at Henley Oval and the feature races are won by Anton Lewis and Adrienne Clarke.
1992 – Ruth Taylor becomes the first winner of the Bay Sheffield Women’s Gift and Camden Women’s Classic double.
1993 – The Camden Classic Carnival is held back at Camden Oval for the first time since 1990 and the feature races are won by SANFL field umpire Kym Schwarz and 1992 Bay Sheffield Women’s Gift winner Melinda McAinsh.
1995 – Amin Chehade is controversially disqualified from the 1995 Camden Classic final when he stumbles before the finish and does not break the tape despite crossing the line first. David Martin is awarded the race.
1996 – 1990 winner Steve Hutton becomes the first dual winner of the Camden Classic and then two months later wins the famous Stawell Gift over 120m. Mandy Heath wins the Women’s Classic as a 15 year old.
1998 – Norwood footballer Damian Obst wins convincingly and hits the headlines for his victory.
1999 – A book is released, titled “The Camden Classic – the first 20 years”, while regular Bay Sheffield 550m finalist David Smith breaks through for a big race win.
2003 – Ben McLean becomes the first back-to-back winner of the Camden Classic, while Lee Myatt wins the Women’s Classic in the tightest finish in the race’s history.
2004 – The City of West Torrens becomes the Event Sponsor for the Camden Classic. Andrew Wilcox becomes the third Victorian to win the feature race.
2007 – Wallace Long-Scafidi and Joanne Fenech are the winners of the feature races as the Camden Classic Carnival is held under lights for the first time due to the hot weather policy.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright © 2020
send message

    Main page