Jablonski, Marek (Michael)

Download 6.47 Mb.
Size6.47 Mb.
1   ...   772   773   774   775   776   777   778   779   ...   1182

Jirko, Ivan

(b Prague, 7 Oct 1926; d Prague, 20 Aug 1978). Czech composer and critic. He read medicine at Prague University, concurrently studying composition with Karel Janeček (1944–9) and Bořkovec (1949–52). He worked as a psychiatrist from 1951 to 1971, and was also a music critic for Prague newspapers. From 1974 to 1978 he was lecturer at the Prague Academy of Performing Arts; from 1976 he was opera dramaturg at the National Theatre. Jirko was secretary of the Přítomnost association for contemporary music and a committee member of the Union of Czech and Czechoslovak Composers. His articles in Tempo, Rytmus and Hudební rozhledy deal principally with the aesthetics of musical socialist realism.

For more than 25 years Jirko worked at creating a highly individual musical expression rooted in neo-classicism. His music is cast in extended forms that follow examples of Shostakovich and Bořkovec, but it also shows melodic influences from Czech folksong. The vocabulary of his music is predominantly tonal, in the broadest sense of the term, while his settings are concise and formally well-founded. Many works convey a sense of brightness and optimism.


(selective list)

Vocal: Večer třikrálový [Twelfth Night] (op, 3, Jirko, after W. Shakespeare), 1964; Podivuhodné dobrodružství Arthura Rowa [The Wonderful Adventure of Arthur Rowe] (op, 3, Jirko, after G. Greene: The Ministry of Fear), 1968, rev. as Návrat [The Return]; Requiem (Florian, liturgy, Jirko), S, A, T, Bar, B, chorus, orch, 1970; Děvka [The Strumpet] (op divertimento, Jirko, after C. Zavattini), 1970; Milionářka [The Millionairess] (op divertimento, Jirko, after Zavattini), 1970

Orch: Sym. no.1, 1956–7; Pf Conc. no.3, 1957–8; Sym. no.2 ‘Rok 1945’ [The Year 1945], 1961–2; Capriccio all’antico, after J.W. von Goethe: Faust: Walpurgisnacht, 1971; Fl Conc., 1973; Sym. no.3, 1976–7

Chbr and solo inst: Sonata, vc, pf, 1954; Pf Sonata, 1956; Suite, wind qnt, 1956; Str Qt no.2, 1962; Serenata giocosa, vn, gui, 1967; Sonata, 14 wind, timp, 1968; Str Qt no.4, 1969; 5 Preludes, pf, 1970; Serenata a due tempi, ob qt/9 insts, 1970; Str Qt no.5 ‘à la Viennoise’, 1970; Vivat Verdi!, fl, ob, cl, bn, 1969; Giuochi per 3, vn, va, vc, 1970; Pf Sonata no.2 ‘Elégie disharmonique’, 1970; Partita, vn 1973; Str Qt no.6, 1974; Pf Qnt, 1977–8

Principal publishers: Panton, State Publishing House

Download 6.47 Mb.

Share with your friends:
1   ...   772   773   774   775   776   777   778   779   ...   1182

The database is protected by copyright ©essaydocs.org 2023
send message

    Main page