Jablonski, Marek (Michael)

Download 6.47 Mb.
Size6.47 Mb.
1   ...   536   537   538   539   540   541   542   543   ...   1182

Jenkins, Newell (Owen)

(b New Haven, CT, 8 Feb 1915; d 21 Dec 1996). American conductor. He studied in Dresden, Freiburg and Munich, at Yale University, and in New York with Leon Barzin. His début was in 1935 with Dido and Aeneas at the Städtisches Theater, Freiburg, and in 1940 he founded the Yale Opera Group, New Haven. From 1948 to 1956 he worked in Bologna and Florence, where he formed and directed the Piccola Accademia Musicale (1952), and in the 1970s he was guest conductor at the Stockholm Royal Opera. Meanwhile, in 1958, he started the Clarion Concerts series in New York which broadened into concert and semi-staged performances of rare Baroque operas, among them Vivaldi’s Farnace, Hasse’s L’olimpiade and Piccinni’s Didon. His recordings include operas by Simon Mayr, Rossini and Dittersdorf, and works by Cherubini, G.B. Sammartini, Brunetti and J.M. Kraus. Jenkins taught at New York University, 1964–74, and at the University of California at Irvine, 1971–9. His musicological activities have included research on G.B. Sammartini and Kraus, and he has published an edition of nine symphonies by Brunetti.


Download 6.47 Mb.

Share with your friends:
1   ...   536   537   538   539   540   541   542   543   ...   1182

The database is protected by copyright ©essaydocs.org 2023
send message

    Main page