Jablonski, Marek (Michael)

Download 6.47 Mb.
Size6.47 Mb.
1   ...   511   512   513   514   515   516   517   518   ...   1182


DCB (H. Kallmann)

EMC2 (J.-A. Houle and C. Huot)

[J. Jehin-Prume]: Jehin-Prume: une vie d’artiste (Montreal, c1899) [incl. list of works, opp.1–88]


Jelić [Jelicich, Jelich], Vincenz [Vincenzo, Vinko]

(b Fiume [now Rijeka], 1596; d Zabern [now Saverne], Alsace, ?1636). Croatian composer. His birthplace is sometimes indicated as Flumen Sancti Viti, or St Veit am Pflaum, which are descriptive names for Fiume. The original form of his surname was Jeličić (Jelicich). In 1606 he became a choirboy in Archduke Ferdinand's chapel at Graz, where he was taught by Matthia Ferrabosco. After a brief return to Fiume (1609–10) he was back in Graz, in the Ferdinandeum, studying first at the Gymnasium and then at the Jesuit University. From 1615 he was an instrumentalist in the court chapel, where he furthered his musical studies, possibly at first under Reimundo Ballestra. In 1618 he went to the court of Ferdinand's brother Leopold at Zabern, Alsace, where Ballestra had been appointed Kapellmeister in 1616. He entered Leopold's service first as an instrumentalist, but after taking holy orders he combined his musical duties with those of vicar and later canon of the church of Ste Marie. There are no references to him in documents at Zabern or elsewhere after 1636, when he probably died during an epidemic in Zabern following a battle in the Thirty Years War.

Jelić may have written some of his op.1 before he left Graz. The court in Graz attracted several Italian and italianate composers (Ballestra, Bonometti, Pfendner, Priuli) from whom he would have been able to learn the elements of the north Italian (and particularly the Venetian) expressive style. He was careful to treat individual words expressively, and he contrasts syllabic and melismatic passages effectively. An interesting feature is his frequent use of tempo indications: ‘tardi’, ‘tardissimo’, ‘allegro’, ‘allegrissimo’. His op.2 follows the style of op.1, but includes somewhat more conventional four-part psalm settings. Six of his pieces were reprinted in two of Johann Donfrid's anthologies (RISM 16271, 16272).


Parnassia militia concertuum, incl. 24 church concs., 1–4vv, bc (org), 4 ricercares, 2 insts, op.1 (Strasbourg, 1622); ed. in Vidaković

Arion primus, [34] sacrorum concertuum, 1, 2, 4vv, bc (org), op.2 (Strasbourg, 1628), inc., 6 motets ed. in MAM, v (1957) and 18 in Osamnaest moteta iz zbirke ‘Arion Primus’ (Zagreb, 1974)

Arion secundus, [11] psalmorum vespertinorum, 4vv, with 12 inst pieces, op.3 (Strasbourg, 1628), inc.

Download 6.47 Mb.

Share with your friends:
1   ...   511   512   513   514   515   516   517   518   ...   1182

The database is protected by copyright ©essaydocs.org 2022
send message

    Main page