Jablonski, Marek (Michael)

Janissary stop [Turkish music]

Download 6.47 Mb.
Size6.47 Mb.
1   ...   235   236   237   238   239   240   241   242   ...   1182

Janissary stop [Turkish music].

A pedal found on pianos of the late 18th- and early 19th-century Vienna, that operated a drumstick which struck the underside of the soundboard, a cymban and tuned bells, in imitation of the ‘Turkish’ effects then fashionable.

See Janissary music and Pedalling, §2.

Janitsch, Anton [Janič, Antonín]

(b Bohemia, 1753; d Burgsteinfurt, 12 March 1812). German violinist and composer of Czech origin. In his early years he lived in Switzerland, where he became known as a child prodigy. He studied with Pugnani in Turin, and afterwards performed in Switzerland, Austria and southern Germany. From 1769 until 1774 he was employed as court virtuoso in the court orchestra at Koblenz. He then served in the Kapelle of Prince Kraft Ernst of Oettingen-Wallerstein until 1779, and after a period of absence on concert tours, he returned to Wallerstein, 1782–5. He often travelled with the Wallerstein cellist Josef Reicha; in January 1778 the two men visited Salzburg, playing Mozart’s Divertimento for piano trio k254 with Nannerl Mozart. Janitsch later played in the orchestra of Gustav Grossmann’s theatre company in Hanover (according to Gerber, he was still a member in 1796). He spent his last years as Kapellmeister at the court of the Count of Burgsteinfurt.

Janitsch gained a considerable reputation as a virtuoso: Schubart praised him as one of the best violinists of his time. He composed symphonies and chamber music, but no works were published during his lifetime, and only one symphony survives (D-BFb).

Download 6.47 Mb.

Share with your friends:
1   ...   235   236   237   238   239   240   241   242   ...   1182

The database is protected by copyright ©essaydocs.org 2022
send message

    Main page