Jablonski, Marek (Michael)

Jordá (y Gascón), Luis (Gonzaga)

Download 6.47 Mb.
Size6.47 Mb.
1   ...   1008   1009   1010   1011   1012   1013   1014   1015   ...   1182

Jordá (y Gascón), Luis (Gonzaga)

(b Barcelona, 1869; d Barcelona,1951). Mexican composer, pianist and conductor. He was born in Catalonia but spent most of his career in Mexico City, settling there after directing a season of zarzuelas at the Teatro Principal in 1898. He founded the periodical El arte musical (1910) and the Jordá-Rocabruna Quintet (1903), which played an important role in introducing chamber music to the Mexican capital. He was also a founder-member of the Sociedad Mexicana de Autores. A leading figure of the Mexican musical renaissance, he devoted most of his energies to composing zarzuelas and was highly successful. Among the most notable of his works in this genre are Chin chun chan (a ‘Chinese conflict’ in three acts), El sueño de un loco, and La buena moza, all of which received their first performances at the Principal in 1904. He was also successful in other genres, and in 1902 his Himno patriótico won first prize in a national composition contest. His symphonic poem Independencia also won first prize in a later contest commemorating the centenary of Mexico’s independence (the jury included Ponce, Felipe Pedrell and Widor). He composed numerous piano works, and his mazurka Elodia was among the bestselling scores in 19th-century Mexico. His vocal works include the popular Ardientes desvaríos and Amar y sufrir.


(selective list)

dates are of first performance; all works composed before 1929

Zars: La mancha roja, Mexico City, Principal, 1899; Los de abajo (R. Medina), Mexico City, Principal, 1899; Mariposa (A.G. Carrasco), Mexico City, Principal, 1899; Palabra de honor (R. Mendoza and P.E. Palma), Mexico City, Principal, 1899; La vela grande, (Medina), Mexico City, Arbeu, 1903; Chin chun chan (J.F. Elizondo and Medina), Mexico City, Principal, 1904; El sueño de un loco (J.A. Mateos), Mexico City, Principal, 1904; La buena moza (Medina and J.M. Gallegos), Mexico City, Principal, 1904; El champión (Elizondo and Medina), Mexico City, Principal, 1905; El barón (R. Berdejo), Mexico City, Principal, 1908; Crudo invierno (I. Baeza and L. Andrade), Madrid, María Guerrero, 1910

Pf: Anita, danza; Apasionada, mazurca de salón; Bienvenido, pasodoble flamenco; 3 danzas nocturnas; Delia, gavota; Elodia, mazurca de salón; Esperanza de amor, polca; Hispano-americano, two-step; Jota del centenario; La Macarena, poema español; Laughing Blossoms, danza graciosa, pubd 1911; Mangol, two-step; Mazurka de concierto; Parisien, chotis; Primavera, vals

1v, pf: Amar y sufrir (L.G. Urbina), danza cantada; Ardientes desvaríos (M. Acuña), danza cantada; Asi te quiero amar, danza cantada; Hora de amor, danza-alborada cantada; La virgen de mis sueños, danza sentimental cantada; Le di mi vida, danza cantada; Schotisch

Chorus, pf: Canto de la paz; Himno al centenario; La casita blanca

Miscellaneous: La Macarena, 2 vn, vc, pf, org (1902); Himno patriótico de la segunda reserva del Ejército, wind band (1902); Independencia, orch

Sacred works, chbr music

Principal publishers: Otto y Arzoz and Wagner y Levien

Download 6.47 Mb.

Share with your friends:
1   ...   1008   1009   1010   1011   1012   1013   1014   1015   ...   1182

The database is protected by copyright ©essaydocs.org 2022
send message

    Main page