Download 1.02 Mb.
Size1.02 Mb.
  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   15


Before Confederation British North America was divided into 5 separate colonies:
1.The Province of Canada (East and West)

2.Nova Scotia

3.New Brunswick

4.Newfoundland and Labrador

5.Prince Edward Island


  • Lord Durham came to Canada to find out why both Upper and Lower Canada rebelled in 1837. He made two major recommendations. One of the recommendations was to give Canada RESPONSIBLE GOVERNMENT.

  • Canada could choose any form of government they wanted – unlimited or limited government. They chose a democracy with a constitutional monarchy. Further, they chose a FEDERAL system which split the power between the central government and the regional (provincial) governments. It was intended that the central government should have more power than the regional governments.

Download 1.02 Mb.

Share with your friends:
  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   15

The database is protected by copyright © 2022
send message

    Main page