Nation-building and nationalism in today’s Russia Conference in Tallinn, Estonia, April 28-29, 2016



Download 35.28 Kb.
Date conversion15.05.2016
Size35.28 Kb.


Nation-building and nationalism in today’s Russia

Conference in Tallinn, Estonia, April 28-29, 2016.

Draft program (February)

Capstone conference for the research project ‘Nation-building, nationalism and the new ‘other’ in

today’s Russia’ (NEORUSS), funded by the Research Council of Norway. The conference takes place at Tallinn University, Narva mnt 25. All paper givers have 20 minutes to present their paper.

Thursday 28 April
0900-0915 Opening session

Pål Kolstø, University of Oslo, Norway

Raivo Vetik, Tallinn University, Estonia
0915-1015 Keynote speech

Contested Nations

John Hutchinson, London School of Economics, UK, j.hutchinson1@lse.ac.uk


1015-1145 Book round table: The New Russian Nationalism

Moderator:

Helge Blakkisrud, Norwegian Institute of International Affairs, Oslo, Norway, hb@nupi.no
Participants:

Mischa Gabowitsch, Einstein Forum, Potsdam, gabowitsch@gmail.com


Igor Zevelev, MacArthur Foundation, Russia office, Moscow, Russia, zevelevi@gmail.com
Marharyta Fabrykant, Belarusian State University, Minsk, Belarus, marharyta.fabrykant@gmail.com, m.fabrykant@hse.ru
Pål Kolstø, University of Oslo, Norway, pal.kolsto@ilos.uio.no
1145-1245 Luncheon
1245-1415 Plenary session 1: Long lines in Russian nation-building

Moderator:

Vera Tolz, University of Manchester, UK, vera.tolz@manchester.ac.uk
Papers:

The paradoxes of Russian nation-building in the Soviet Union

Geoffrey Hosking, University College London, UK, geoffreyhosking@mac.com


А nation of nations’ formula for Russia (dynamics of complex civic/ethnic identity)

Valery Tishkov, Institute of Ethnology and Anthropology of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia, valerytishkov@mail.ru


What are we studying in Russia: Russian nationalism or Imperial chauvinism?

Emil Pain, Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia, painea@mail.ru


1415-1430 Break
1430-1600 Plenary session 2: Radical nationalists

Moderator:

Robert Horvath, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia, r.horvath@latrobe.edu.au
Papers:

Izborsky Club: nationalism, Stalinism, conservatism?

Marlene Laruelle, The George Washington University, USA, laruelle@gwu.edu


The right-wing extremisms of post-Soviet Russia and Ukraine, 1991-2014: hypotheses on differences in their permutation and performance

Andreas Umland, Institute for Euro-Atlantic Cooperation, Kyiv, Ukraine, andreumland@yahoo.com


Russian nationalism between decline and normalization

Alexander Verkhovsky, SOVA Center for Information and Analysis, Moscow, Russia, averh@sova-center.ru


1600-1615 Break
1615-1745 Parallel panels

Panel 1: Migration and nationalism


Moderator:

Natalya Kosmarskaya, Insitute of Oriental Sciences, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia, kosmarskis@gmail.com


Papers:

Is Russia a ‘normal’ country of immigration?

Caress Schenk, Nazarbaev University, Astana, Kazakhstan, cschenk@nu.edu.kz


New trends in Russia’s migration policy as a reflection of the evolution of nation-building

Sergey Krivov, Lobachevski State University, Nizhny Novgorod, Russia, skrivov@rambler.ru


Forced migrant ‘compatriots’ from Ukraine. Attractive labour and Russian citizens-to-be?

Marthe H. Myhre, University of Oslo, Norway, m.h.myhre@ilos.uio.no

Panel 2: Muslims and Jews
Moderator:

Anastasia Mitrofanova, The Russian Orthodox University of St John the Divine, Moscow, Russia, anastasia-mit@mail.ru


Papers:

Islam and ethnicity in Tatarstan in the 2010s: everyday nationalism approach

Guzel Yusopova, Kazan Federal University & Oriental Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Kazan, Russia, gyusupova@mail.ru


Our Jewish community is the coolest in the world’: Judaism and Jewish nation-building in contemporary Russia

Galina Zelenina, Russian State University of Humanities, Moscow, Russia, galinazelenina@gmail.com


The impact of foreign affairs on the shifting domestic image of ‘good’ vs. ‘bad’ Muslims in Russia, 2013–16

Gevorg Avetikyan, European University in St Petersburg, Russia, avetikyan@eu.spb.ru

Panel 3: Pride and patriotism
Moderator:

Valery Tishkov, Institute of Ethnology and Anthropology of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia, valerytishkov@mail.ru


Papers:

Dynamics of national pride in Russia in 1995–2014: facets, trends and determinants

Marharyta Fabrykant, Belarusian State University, Minsk, Belarus, marharyta.fabrykant@gmail.com & Vladimir Magun, Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia, maghome@yandex.ru


A nation of patriots? Everyday patriotism in Putin’s Russia

J. Paul Goode, University of Bath, UK, j.p.goode@bath.ac.uk


Competing patriotisms and national belonging in Russia since 2008

Markku Kangaspuro, University of Helsinki, Finland, markku.kangaspuro@helsinki.fi


1900 Dinner at Tallinn Teachers House, Raekoja plats 14

Friday 29 April
0915-1045 Plenary session 3: Nationalism in Putin’s Russia

Moderator:

Geoffrey Hosking, University College London, UK, geoffreyhosking@mac.com (tbc)
Papers:

Projecting the nation: media events and changing narratives of nationhood in Putin’s Russia Vera Tolz, University of Manchester, UK, vera.tolz@manchester.ac.uk
Crimea come what may: sources of social support for costly territorial expansionism

Mikhail Alexseev, San Diego State University, San Diego, USA, alexseev@mail.sdsu.edu & Henry Hale, The George Washington University, Washington DC, USA, hhale@gwu.edu


Symbol of the war – but which one? The St George ribbon in Russian nation-building

Pål Kolstø, University of Oslo, Norway, pal.kolsto@ilos.uio.no



1045-1100 Break
1100-1230 Parallel panels

Panel 4: Contemporary Russian ethnonationalism

Moderator:

Andreas Umland, Institute for Euro-Atlantic Cooperation, Kyiv, Ukraine, andreumland@yahoo.com


Papers:

Ideologue of revolutionary terror: Aleksandr Sevast’yanov and ‘Russian partisans’

Robert Horvath, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia, r.horvath@latrobe.edu.au


Nationalism and revolution in modern Russia

Alexandra Kuznetsova, University of Manitoba, Canada, kuznetsa@myumanitoba.ca & Sergey Sergeev, Kazan National Research Technological University, Russia, sasergeev1@rambler.ru


The dynamics of Russian nationalist organizations under Vladimir Putin (2000-2015): a political-sociological approach

Sofia Tipaldou, Autonomous University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain, sofia.tipaldou@uab.cat

Panel 5: Russian nationalism in politics and economy
Moderator:

Mikhail Alexseev, San Diego State University, San Diego, USA, alexseev@mail.sdsu.edu


Papers:

The place of economics in Russia national identity debates

Peter Rutland, Wesleyan University, Middletown, USA, & Manchester University, UK, prutland@wesleyan.edu


tbc

Henry Hale, The George Washington University, Washington DC, USA, hhale@gwu.edu



Stavropol as ‘Russia’s Kosovo’: the ethnopolitics of a Russian region

Helge Blakkisrud, Norwegian Institute of International Affairs, Oslo, Norway, HB@nupi.no


1230-1330 Luncheon
1330-1500 Plenary session 4: Nationalism and foreign policy

Moderator:

Raivo Vetik, Tallinn University, rvetik@tlu.ee
Papers:

Nationalism and foreign policy change in today’s Russia

Igor Zevelev, MacArthur Foundation, Russia office, Moscow, Russia, zevelevi@gmail.com


Russia’s national identity and its perspectives on the Baltic states, 1991-2016

Peter Duncan, UCL SSEES, London, p.duncan@ucl.ac.uk & Alexander Titov, Queen’s University Belfast, UK, alex.s.titov@gmail.com


Popular geopolitics in Russia today: territorial change, Russkiy Mir and great power status

Matthew Blackburn, Glasgow University, UK, m.blackburn1@gla.ac.uk


1500-1515 Break
1515-1645 Parallel panels

Panel 6: Ukraine, Crimea, Empire

Moderator:

Pål Kolstø, University of Oslo, Norway, pal.kolsto@ilos.uio.no


Papers:

Was Russia’s conflict with Ukraine inevitable? Historical and circumstantial factors in the Ukraine crisis

Alexander Titov , Queen’s University Belfast, UK, alex.s.titov@gmail.com


Unpacking Crimea before annexation: a bottom-up perspective

Eleanor Knott, London School of Economics, UK, e.k.knott@lse.ac.uk


The new Russian nationalism: between empire and ethnicity

Eduard Ponarin, Higher School of Economics, St Petersburg, Russia, eponarin@hse.ru & Mikhail Komin, Higher School of Economics, St Petersburg, Russia, kominmo19@yandex.ru

Panel 7: Traitors, enemies and patriots
Moderator:

Peter Rutland, Wesleyan University, Middletown, USA & Manchester University, UK, prutland@wesleyan.edu


Papers:

Three enemies of modern Russian nationalism

Ivan Bobrov, Siberian Institute of RANKhiGS, Novosibirsk, Russia, crannytrap@gmail.com & Dmitrii Mikhailov, Siberian Institute of RANKhiGS, Novosibirsk, Russia, damihan@yandex.ru


National traitors’ or ‘Russian-European patriots’? Analysing political identification of the contemporary liberal Russian rock musicians

Sergei Akopov, Higher School of Economics, St Petersburg, Russia, sakopov@hse.ru & Anastasia Ivanchikova, Higher School of Economics, St Petersburg, Russia, stasy-la@yandex.ru


What role does the ‘neo-Cossack’ movement play in constructing Russian national identity? Richard Arnold, Muskingum University, New Concord, USA, drrarnold22@outlook.com
Panel 8: Religion and nationalism
Moderator

Alexander Verkhovsky, SOVA Center for Information and Analysis, Moscow, Russia, averh@sova-center.ru


Papers:

Reviving the native faith: nationalism in Slavic neo-paganism (Church of the Orthodox Old Believers/Ynglings and Svarozhichi)

Elena Golovneva, Ural Federal University, Yekaterinburg, Russia, golovneva.elena@gmail.com


The Russian Church: nationalist, multinational, or universal?

Anastasia Mitrofanova, The Russian Orthodox University of St John the Divine, Moscow, Russia, anastasia-mit@mail.ru


Religion and religious institutions in the formation of the Russian national identity in the North Caucasus: problems and perspectives

Oksana Khlopkova, Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia, oksana-hlopkova@mail.ru


1645-1700 Break
1700-1830 Parallel panels

Panel 9: Cultural approaches to nationalism


Moderator:

Peter Duncan, UCL SSEES, p.duncan@ucl.ac.uk


Papers:

Repressions, collective memory and nation-building in post-soviet Russia: the politics of oblivion

Ekaterina Klimenko, St Petersburg State Institute of Culture, Russia, ekavlaklimenko@gmail.com


Between the Soviet and the post-Soviet: cultural semiotics of Russian imperial nationalism Andrey Makarychev, University of Tartu, Estonia, asmakarychev@gmail.com
Who are the nation’s heroes? Russia’s new national cemetery in global context

Mischa Gabowitsch, Einstein Forum, Potsdam, gabowitsch@gmail.com

Panel 10: Migration, refugees and xenophobia
Moderator:

J. Paul Goode, University of Bath, UK, j.p.goode@bath.ac.uk


Brothers and barbarians: discourses about Ukrainian refugees and refugees from North Africa and the Middle East in three Russian newspapers

Natalia Moen-Larsen, University of Oslo, Norway, n.m.larsen@sosgeo.uio.no


How can interviewing help to reveal regional specifics of xenophobia? A case-study of two cities in Russia)

Natalya Kosmarskaya, Insitute of Oriental Sciences, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia, kosmarskis@gmail.com


External and internal ‘others’ in creating identity narratives in Russia (cases of spatial identity inversion at Russian- Chinese and Russian-Estonian borders)

Igor Okunev, Moscow State Institute of International Relations, Russia, iokunev@mgimo.ru, okunev_igor@yahoo.com)


1930 Dinner

Restaurant Scheeli, Vana turg 2



Saturday 30 April

City tour (optional)


The database is protected by copyright ©essaydocs.org 2016
send message

    Main page