Name Date The Righteous



Download 15.83 Kb.
Date conversion13.05.2016
Size15.83 Kb.

Name _________________________ Date ___________


The Righteous
Due Date ______________________________

Single Voices Who Made A Multitude of Difference
During World War II, Holocaust Rescuers—also known as The Righteous—worked to keep persecuted people alive, defying Hitler and the Nazis. The Righteous were ordinary people from myriad countries who acted extraordinarily to rebel against the immorality of Hitler’s policies.
Unlike the Nazis who considered Jewish and other persecuted people their enemies, the Righteous saw them as fellow human beings in need of help. Their rescue stories are as different as the people and situations, but courage and compassion are the crux of every single one.
Wall of the Righteous

In Noodle Tools…



  • Create a new project. Name it “The Righteous.”

  • Create one note card. The title of the note card is the name of your rescuer.

  • Google your rescuer’s name. Decide on a reliable source. Make a citation in Noodle Tools for that source.




  • In the Direct Quotations section…

    • List any facts that contain statistics/numbers/percent(s)

    • Copy a quote about or by your rescuer that shows or supports him/her as a single voice who made a difference




  • In the Paraphrase section…

    • Write a bulleted list of WHAT the rescuer did to help Jewish people or other persecuted people during the Holocaust.

    • Add to the bulleted list any details that tell HOW or WHY the rescuer did what he/she did.

    • Total of at least 8 to 10 details




  • In the My Ideas section…

    • Give your opinion about what the rescuer did.

      • ! (I can’t believe… or it is surprising that…)

      • ? (what/how/what if).

In Microsoft Word…


Noodle Tools: CHECKLIST!

_____ Citation for web site correct.

_____ At least one fact/statistic/quote listed in the “Direct Quotations section.”



_____ A list of 8 to 12 details about the WHAT, HOW, and WHY of the rescue
**List of possible Righteous Rescuers provided on the back.
Use the list of rescuers below to determine who you would like to research further. Then, decide on one rescuer you would like to focus on and begin your work in noodle tools.
Rescuers

  1. Chiune Sugihara http://www.eagleman.com/sugihara/

  2. Varian Fry http://www.varianfry.dk/

  3. Raoul Wallenberg http://www.raoulwallenberg.se/historymain.htm

  4. Carlo Angela http://www.raoulwallenberg.net/saviors/italian/carlo-angela-quot-righteous/

  5. Arrigo Beccari http://www.catholiceducation.org/articles/catholic_stories/cs0070.html

  6. Cipriana Selva http://www.raoulwallenberg.net/saviors/italian/cipriana-selva/

  7. Beniamino Schivo http://www.raoulwallenberg.net/saviors/others/monsignor-beniamino-schivo/

  8. Maddalena Giraudo http://www.raoulwallenberg.net/saviors/italian/maddalena-giraudo/

  9. Adelaide Hautval http://www1.yadvashem.org/yv/en/exhibitions/flickers_of_light/adelaide_hautval.asp

  10. Raoul Laporterie http://www.raoulwallenberg.net/general/raoul-laporterie/

  11. Per Anger http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/biography/anger.html

  12. Bert Bochove http://www.raoulwallenberg.net/saviors/norwegian/bert-bochove-s-story/

  13. Gertruda Babilinska http://www1.yadvashem.org/yv/en/righteous/stories/babilinska.asp

  14. Alex and Mela Roslan http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shtetl/righteous/alex.html

  15. Irene Opdyke http://www.holocaustcenter.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=202

  16. Jan Karski http://www.jankarski.net/1/618/About+Karski.html

  17. Irena Sendler http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/biography/irenasendler.html

  18. Hugh O'Flaherty http://praoh.org/?p=773

  19. Martha and Waitstill Sharp http://www.ushmm.org/wlc/en/article.php?ModuleId=10007198

  20. Hiram "Harry" Bingham IV http://www.hirambinghamrescuer.com/DramaticStoryOfHB4.htm

  21. André Trocmé http://www1.yadvashem.org/yv/en/righteous/stories/trocme.asp

  22. Carl Lutz http://www1.yadvashem.org/yv/en/exhibitions/our_collections/carl_lutz/index.asp

  23. Jan and Antonina Zabinsk http://www1.yadvashem.org/yv/en/righteous/stories/zabinski.asp

  24. Ida Brunelli-Lenti http://www1.yadvashem.org/yv/en/righteous/stories/brunelli_lenti.asp

  25. Feng-Shan Ho http://www1.yadvashem.org/yv/en/righteous/stories/ho.asp

  26. Roger & Jeanette Voinot http://www1.yadvashem.org/yv/en/righteous/stories/voinot.asp

  27. Gennady Safono http://www1.yadvashem.org/yv/en/righteous/stories/safonov.asp

  28. Adolf and Maria Althoff http://www1.yadvashem.org/yv/en/righteous/stories/althoff.asp

  29. Stefan Raczynski http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shtetl/righteous/stephan.html

  30. John Henry Weidner http://weidnerfoundation.org/en/index.php/who_we_are/the_life_and_times_of_john_henry_weidner_i_had_no_choice/


The database is protected by copyright ©essaydocs.org 2016
send message

    Main page