McCarthy Middle School



Download 54.9 Kb.
Date conversion13.05.2016
Size54.9 Kb.
McCarthy Middle School

PTO


9/11/13

Attendees: Moira Malvich, Beth Morrill, Nancy March, Hana Barker, Cathy Ross, Mike Rigney, Kurt McPhee, Donna Martin, Cathy Poisson, Bill Malvich, Laurinda Clemente, Betsy Kehoe, Patty Hill, Georgia Fredericks, Samantha Sager, Annette Bianchi, Dafna Erikson, Betsy Hebert, Kristina Bruce, Kerrie Moore, Nadina Wright, Jennifer Murrey, Linda Adoniou, Arthur Yee, Melissa Nolan, Deb Dorsey, Janine Viarella, Leigh Ann Sciacca, Laurinda Clemente, Bail Burato,

Welcome address from Moira

Call to order at 7:05pm


  • Introduction of new board….

  • Reading of minutes read and accepted

President’s Report:

  • We have a new Facebook page and website

  • New Team starting out and trying hard to work together

Treasurer’s Report:

  • Negative numbers down bottom – did not balance due to getting rid of magazine fund raiser.

  • $14,870 spent on document cameras which wasn’t planned for

  • We still ended up with excess and have a CD $20,000+

  • Budget for 2013 – 2014 is the Board’s best guess

  • We added magazine sale back in budgeted at a previous amount based on sales

  • Council of Chelmsford Schools $ given but never know what to expect so we do not budget for it. We typically get over $3000

  • Expense side – not a lot has changed.

  • Capital Expense - $1800 for installation of 2 new pieces of playground equipment; not in budget since it is a onetime expense. We have excess cash so using as best as we can. (not in budget but we have the money)

Motion to accept budget – Moira and Beth

PTO Continued – 9/11/2013

Page 2

Principals Report:


  • Kurt and Donna team for 5 years (Kurt here for 9)

  • Recess before lunch

  • 5th grade off to specialist after lunch for 1st time – working good

  • Wireless has been added throughout the building over Summer

  • (2) full ipad carts were purchased through Stop n Shop $

  • ELA purchased (2) ipad carts

    • Will be readily available to teachers

    • We have more need for devices as we go away from paper to technology

  • Turf field is ongoing – hopes is to be done by end of September – rubberized track may take into October – PE classes will be able to use it

  • Fields will be flattened, grated and able to be used

  • Playground – swings taken down – 2 separate structures for kids – an area will be mulched – a couple of tables and benches, 600lb trash receptacles – really trying to beautify the area. Mid October timing which is later than we hoped.

  • Bathroom remodeling bidding happened over the Summer and will take place this year – Winter time frame

  • New staff – list will go out (more than expected)

  • Student advisory program kicks off Friday – on the children’s schedule – feel safe and connected to staff.

    • Meet with advisors once a week – greetings, activities, service based themes with goal to strengthen relationships between student and adults –grade appropriate

    • Groups @ 13/14 by grade - random

    • Whole school in advisory at same time – Friday am

    • May have same advisor for 2 years but still determining that

  • Question that came up around what the kids can do at recess with the playground not ready – kids can bring in balls and Kurt will send out note to parents/teachers on what they CAN bring in

  • 4 square and hopscotch may be added

    • We can spend up to $250 if 2 agree and $1000 if all 4 agree.

PTO Continued – 9/11/2013

Page 3


Teacher’s Report: Nothing to report

School Committee Report:

  • Liaison to the school committee – Mike Rigney

  • Every other Tuesday at 7pm – Chelmsford TV. Org

  • Computer to child ratio under 3:1 which is great progress from 7:1

  • Air handling work has been done

  • Solar panels for roof are planned

  • Energy efficiency stuff – ongoing

  • Our district has been selected as a field test site – some of the kids will be taking the PARCC test this year. It won’t be scored individually – both electronic and paper version will be given. If they are chosen to take the PARCC they may be exempt from taking the MCAS, if they wish. 1 of the 2 organizations implementing the common core – what everyone should know on a grade level basis. Will not happen prior to spring. More details to come on who, how long, when, etc.

  • Preliminary report on full day kindergarten rolled out – 1 of only 20 that does not have it in state. We will pursue for entire district. 2 classes of full day at each elementary and 8 at Westlands.. Goal is to be in place next year.

  • Hazing incident at HS – ongoing police investigation, not for public record – no further comment

  • Survey from summer – over 60% wants to start after Labor Day but @ 60% staff prefers prior. Spring vacation: 38% skip to what we have, 33% prefer abandon Feb and April and combine in March, 20%+/- said drop Feb and go with April. Staff prefers to stick with what we have.

Enrichment:

  • Enrichment at McCarthy is the “incoming” field trips that the PTO supports. The other outgoing field trips are run by teachers

  • 5th grade – MOS Electromagnetism, Audobon Ark, Drumlin Farms, Barry



  • 6th grade – MOS motion, speed & velocity

  • 7th grade – hasn’t had much in the past years but we are looking into something that might be interesting for them. TBD but possibly play or performance

  • 8th grade – Usually support Quebec Trip

PTO Continued – 9/11/2013

Page 4


Fund raising:

  • Gift Wrap Program underway

    • Coordinator is Leanne

    • Catalogues just came in

  • Family Fun Night – Oct 30th

    • Coordinators: Cathy Ross & Beth Morrill

    • Ice Cream – Badminton

    • Soup fund raising is going to be added

  • Book Fair – Oct 28thNov 1st

    • Night Book Fair on Family Fun Night (October 30th)

  • 5th / 6th Grade Social – Oct 25th

  • School Fun Night TBD – Roller skating, Ice Skating

    • Cathy Poisson will coordinate

  • Fall Recycle Day – Nov 9th (one in Spring, too)

  • Magazine timing will be @ February time frame

  • Scrips – Gift Cards Fund Raiser – On going

    • Georgia Fredericks will coordinate

  • Box Tops

    • Samantha Sager will coordinate

Meeting adjourned at: 8:29

Next PTO Meeting is: October 2nd



Meeting Sign In – September 11, 2013

NAME

HOME TELEPHONE

CELL PHONE

EMAIL

Annette Bianchi

978-250-1531

978-821-3760

Seger333@yahoo.com

Cathy Poisson

978-250-9603

978-807-6101

Poissons@verizon.net

Hana Barker

978-256-2646







Dafna Erikson

781-248-4579




Kde1714@aol.com

Betsy Hebert

978-250-4501




Betsy.Hebert@gmail.com

Kristina Bruce

978-455-1414




Kristina.Bruce1@gmail.com

Georgia Fredericks

978-758-6234




Gfred2004@aol.com

Kerrie Moore

978-250-5211

781-264-3790

KerrieMoore@cclight.net

Nadina Wright

978-250-2343

978-250-2877

Nwright2@msn.com

Jennifer Murrey




978-944-4931

yalookrealgood@aol.com

Patty Hill

978-250-8084

978-430-3767

Pehill@comcast.net

Linda Adoniou

978-256-2334

978-758-41055

Adonioulina@hotmail.com

Betsy Kehoe

978-256-9617

978-8666-6380

Betsy.Kehoe@gmail.com

Samantha Sager




541-890-0159

Fischersager@yahoo.com

Arthur Yee

978-250-2339




?

Melissa Nolan

978-256-8659

978-621-0752

Mnolan01@comcast.net

Deb Dorsey

978-250-4573




Deb.dorsey@verizon.net

Mike Rigney







Righneym@chelmsford.k12.ma.us

Leigh Ann Sciricca

978-256-4069

617-240-5246

Leighann3@aol.com

Laurinda Clemente

978-337-6892




Laurindac@mersinc.org

Gail Burati

978-244-0172

978-799-1526

burati@comcast.net

Cathy Ross




617-594-7881

Cathy.ross@fmr.com

























Volunteer Information



Name

Phone

Email

Event

Nadina Wright

978-250-2343

978-502-7755 (Cell)



Nwright2@msn.com

Ice Cream Social
Nights & Weekend Events

Jennifer Murray

978-944-4931 (Cell)

yalookrealgood@aol.com

Days, Some nights & weekends

Cathy Poisson

978-250-9603

Cathy_poisson@yahoo.com

Anything

Dafna Erikson

781-248-4579




All Social Events

Georgia Fredericks

978-758-6234

Gfred2004@aol.com

SCRIPs

Deb Dorsey

978-250-4573

Deb.dorsey@verizon.net

Unsure but contact me when needed

Betsy Kehoe

978-256-9617
978-866-6380 (Cell)

Betsy.kehoe@gmail.com

Anything

Janine Viarella

978-250-1301

781-799-0444



Janineviarella@hotmail.com

Where I can

Michael Dunn

978-263-3703

Faceinjar@aol..com




Christi Nickerson




Christinickerson@yahoo.com




Paula Rowe




RatPow@yahoo.com

Socials

Ann Marie Fyten




Annmariefyten@yahoo.com




Judi Reilly




Casey0813@gmail.com




Stacey Scott




Sgbrg@aol.com




Jennifer Dunn




chazrig@yahoo.com




Wendy Segal




wjsegal@verizon.net




Sheila Doherty




sdoherty@comcast.net

Gardening

Shannon Provost

978-394-9320







B. Ramsden




berryzed@yahoo.com




Mike Farah




mbfarah@gmail.com




Shihua Wang

978-256-3921

shihua@comcast.net

5th/6th Grade Social

Celene Gribbon

978-256-1909

cgribbon@msn.com




Linda Corfield

978-256-0403

ecorfield@yahoo.com




Kiranmai Chaturvedula

978-761-5696

gkmai@yahoo.com

























































































The database is protected by copyright ©essaydocs.org 2016
send message

    Main page