For the commander

Download 0.52 Mb.
Date conversion21.02.2016
Size0.52 Mb.
1   ...   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   ...   25

4-5. The Soldierization Process

Initial Entry Soldiers undergo a five-phase training program that prepares you for the transition from civilian volunteer to Professional Soldier. The advancement through each phase is a major “stepping stone” in your life, because each stage repeatedly tests and pushes you to be the best.

In a highly supervised environment, you will experience training that challenges you physically and mentally. Successful Soldiers model the actions, behaviors, and Army Values exhibited by your drill sergeants and AIT platoon sergeants.
Each of the five phases is essential. They are identified by colors; each phase signifies a specific turning point in becoming a Soldier.
The Red, White, and Blue phases are part of BCT and the first 9 weeks of OSUT. The Black and Gold phases are part of AIT and the latter weeks of OSUT.

4-6. Military Time

With Soldiering being a 24-hour a day job, it is only fitting that military time is expressed using 24 hours. As a global military force, the U.S. Army constantly coordinates with bases and personnel located in other time zones. To avoid confusion due to time differences, the military uses Greenwich Mean Time, commonly referred to as military time.

Civilian Time

Military Time

Civilian Time

Military Time

12:00 Midnight


12:00 Noon


12:01 AM


1:00 PM


1:00 AM


2:00 PM


2:00 AM


3:00 PM


3:00 AM


4:00 PM


4:00 AM


5:00 PM


5:00 AM


6:00 PM


6:00 AM


7:00 PM


7:00 AM


8:00 PM


8:00 AM


9:00 PM


9:00 AM


10:00 PM


10:00 AM


11:00 PM


11:00 AM


11:59 PM


4-7. Daily Schedule

Typical schedule during BCT/OSUT:

0500 – First Call

0530 – Physical Readiness Training
0630 – Breakfast
0830 – Training
1200 – Lunch
1300 – Training
1700 – Dinner
1800 – Drill Sergeant Time
2030 – Personal Time
2130 – Lights-Out


4-8. Basic Combat Training

Red Phase. You begin the Soldierization process by learning discipline, standards, values and teamwork. In the Red phase, you will learn about Warrior Ethos, first aid, sexual harassment/assault response and prevention programs, customs and courtesies, and resiliency techniques. You will also participate in physical readiness training, road marches, confidence building exercises, and learn how to march in a military formation.

White Phase. You will learn rifle marksmanship and qualify on your assigned weapon. You will also continue your physical readiness training along with negotiating an obstacle course and train in the field on the basic Soldier skills necessary to meet the needs of an expeditionary Army known as” Warrior Tasks and Battle Drills”. These skills help develop your confidence in becoming a strong member of the Army team. c:\users\denise.macias\desktop\pics\060808-f-7234p-054.jpg

Blue Phase. This phase builds upon what you learned over the past two phases and reinforces the basic combat skills with a focus on teamwork and discipline. You will learn to operate additional weapons used by the Army. You will throw live hand grenades, train in urban operations and survive multiple days in a field environment. c:\users\denise.macias\desktop\pics\army_fj_20060606_u8m1476.jpgimagescah2wgke.jpg

After passing all your BCT tests and challenges, you qualify to wear the Army Black Beret as a Rite of Passage.

1   ...   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   ...   25

The database is protected by copyright © 2016
send message

    Main page