Country study on burkina faso biodiversity conducted by the permanent secretariat of the national council for the management of the environment and the national

Download 1.16 Mb.
Date conversion29.04.2016
Size1.16 Mb.
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   24


Table 1 : Types and characteristics of soils 34

Table 32: Principal ethnic groups of Burkina Faso 37

Table 3: Summary of legal instruments in force in Burkina Faso. 48

Table 24: List of traditionally preserved species 74

Table 25: Extent of land use 75

Table 26: Area of land use according to class 75

7 98


Map 1: Geographical location of the Burkina Faso 28

Map 2: Administrative division of Burkina Faso into 30 provinces 30

Map 3: Administrative division of Burkina Faso into 45 provinces 31

Map 4: Mean annual rainfall (1960-1986 period) 33

Map 5 : International catchment areas 36

Map 6 : Phytogeographic territories 38

Map 7: Types of vegetation (according to MELTING J., DIALLO A., OMPAORE J. TO, 1995 41

Map 8 : Means of communication 45

Map 9 : Population density by district and by km2 (INSD, 1985 census) 47

Map 10 : Hydrographic network and dams 78

Map 11 : Classified natural formations 80

Map 12 : The extent of occupation of farmlands 93
Biological diversity is the unique capital for the survival of humanity. It maintains life on land thanks to its ecological roles and as a supplier of subsistence products for living beings. Biological diversity also contributes to the regulation and harmonisation of national, regional and international social rapports, thanks to its scientific, technological, sociological, cultural and educational uses.
Unfortunately nowadays, the constituent elements of the main components of biological diversity, notably ecosystems, animal and plant species and genes, disappear at a rhythm that compromises the obligation made to all generations to bequeath this heritage in good state to future generations.
This first national monograph on the biological diversity of Burkina Faso globally aims at collecting and analysing ecological, biological, economic and social data that will permit to circumscribe the framework in which the development of the National Strategy and Plan of action concerning biological diversity must be undertaken.
In this view, the present document presents, first of all, a state of the art on the biological diversity in Burkina Faso, notably on the knowledge of its constituent elements, the scheduling of its management, the economic aspects that ensues and the threats that weigh on it, and next, draws up the important options able to encourage its conservation and sustainable use. This document draws up the existing potentialities and the major preoccupations of Burkina Faso in the matter of national biological diversity. It is the synthesis of nineteen (19) sectorial thematic studies on questions related to biological diversity and its support, which have been examined through broad discussions.
With its two (2) appendices, one on the systematic list of indexed species and the other on parameters pertaining to these species, the present national monograph is, in our sense, a strong instrument of information, education and orientation of actors and users of biological diversity, for the perpetuation, while doing the harmonious integration of actions related to natural resources, of the preliminary conditions to reach the objective of sustainable human development.
We count on the commitment and determination of all, to reverse the deteriorating tendency of the biological heritage of Burkina Faso.





BDPA : Agricultural Production Development Office

BF : Burkina Faso

BUNASOL : National Soils Office

CAP : Certificate of Professional Aptitude

CES/AGF : Conservation of Waters and Soils/Agro-Forestry

CES/DRS : Conservation of Waters and Soils/Defence and Restoration of Soils

CFD : French Development Fund

CIEH : Inter - States Committee for Hydraulic Study

CILSS : Inter - States Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel

CIRAD : International Centre for Research in Agronomy for Development

CIRDES : International Centre for Research Development of Animal Rearing in

Humid Zones

CIRP : International Council for Phytogenetic Resources

CNDA : National Centre for Agricultural Documentation

CNRST : National Centre for Scientific and Technological Research

CNSF : National Centre for Forest Seeds

CONAGESE : National Council for Environmental Management

CRPA : Regional Centre for Agro - Pastoral Promotion

CRTO : Regional Remote Sensing Centre of Ouagadougou

DNA : Deoxyribonucleic acid

DOET : Directorate of the Organisation of Traditional Animal Rearing

DPIA : Directorate of Animal Production and Industries

DRARA : Regional Directorates of Agriculture and Animal Resources

DSA : Agricultural Services Directorate

EU : European Union

FAO : United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation

F CFA : Franc of the African Financial Community

FED : European Development Fund

FEM : Global Environment Fund (French Acronym)

GEF : Global Environment Fund

GEPRENAF : Participatory Management of Natural Resources and Fauna

ICRAF : International Centre for Agro-Forestry Research

ICRISAT : International Centre for Research on Crops of Semi-arid

Tropical Zones

IDR : Rural Development Institute

IEMVT : Institute of Animal Rearing and Tropical Veterinary Medicine

IGN : National Geographic Institute (in France)

INERA : Environmental and Agricultural Research Institute (ex

Survey and Agricultural Research Institute)

INSD : National Statistical and Demography Institute

IITA : International Institute for Tropical Agriculture

IPD/AOS : Pan-African Institute for Development/ West Africa Sahel

IRAT : Institute for Tropical Agronomic Research

IRBET : Institute for Research in Tropical Biology and Ecology

MARA : Ministry of Agriculture and Animal Resources

MAT : Ministry of Territorial administration (Ministry of Interior)

MEE : Ministry of Environment and Water

ORSTOM : French Institute of Scientific Research for Development in Cooperation

OCCGE : Organisation for Cooperation and Fight Against Important

Endemic Diseases

OCDE : Organisation for Cooperation and Economic Development

ONAT : National office of Soil Development

ONG : Non-Governmental Organisation

ORANA : Organisation for Research on African Food and Nutrition

ORD : Regional Development Organisation

OXFAM : Oxford Committee for Famine Relief (NGO for struggle against famine)

PANE : National Environmental Action Plan

PDAV : Village Agriculture Development Project

PDRI/HKM : Integrated Rural Development Project /Houet-Kossi-Mouhoun

PNB : Gross National Product

PNGT : National Programme for Soil Management

PNUD : United Nations Development Programme

PNUE : United Nations Environmental Programme

RAF : Agrarian and Land Reorganisation

SIG : Geographic Information System

SOPAL : Alcohols and Liqueurs Production Company

SOSUCO : Sugar Company of Comoé

SPA : Provincial Services of Agriculture

SATEC : Technical Assistance and Cooperation Company

UICN : International Union for Nature

UO : University of Ouagadougou

USAID : United States Agency for International Development

1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   24

The database is protected by copyright © 2016
send message

    Main page