Charlottetown’s 2014 Declaration: a bold vision for the future of Canada For immediate release

Download 15.01 Kb.
Date conversion16.05.2016
Size15.01 Kb.

Charlottetown’s 2014 Declaration: A bold vision for the future of Canada
For immediate release
Charlottetown: When the Fathers of Confederation met in Charlottetown 150 years ago to discuss forming a country, there were no women or Indigenous voices at the table. 150 years later, those voices echoed loud and clear in the Confederation Chamber on PEI as women developed a 2014 shared vision for Canada’s future.
A Bold Vision steering committee is pleased to announce the women selected as Bold Visionaries have released their joint vision statement for Canada’s future in which they call on all Canadians to be boldly collaborative and inclusive.
This year marks the 150th anniversary of the Charlottetown Conference, where the Fathers of Confederation came together to discuss a vision that led to the creation of Canada. Acknowledging the lack of Women of Confederation, the organizers of A Bold Vision project asked Canadians, “What would 23 women vision for the next 150 years of Canada’s future?”
As a result of a national nominating process twenty-three emerging and established leaders from across the country and from all walks of life were picked to craft and share both their collective vision for Canada’s future.
The 23 selected women include seven recipients of the Order of Canada, four recipients of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, four PHDs., twelve authors, a spoken word artist, a rocket scientist, a “Hurricane”, a former Prime Minister and a former Premier.
“The visionaries created their shared vision for Canada as part of A Bold Vision events held at the end of September on PEI,” said Steering Committee Chair Sara Roach-Lewis. “After completing the French translation, we are pleased to release this statement which represents a beginning of a new and vital discussion in Canada about what we want our collective future to be, and how we can get there.”
A Bold Vision is a project that celebrates the vital role that women played and continue to play in the advancement of our country. The project was funded in part by PEI 2014 Inc. Events included the conference, an anthology and a public vision session.
The A Bold Vision anthology is now available for purchase at

- 30 –
For more information, or to contact the visionaries for interviews, please contact:

Sara Roach-Lewis, (902) 368-5040, (902) 393-7204

Please note: Vision statement is attached and could be used as a stand-alone opinion piece and additional information can be found at
Cutline to accompany attached image:

Seated around the Confederation Table at Province House in PEI in a recreation of the famous Robert Harris painting of the Fathers of Confederation are 2014 Bold Visionaries. Clockwise from top right: Kluane Adamek, Crystal Fraser, Nazanin Afshin-Jam MacKay, Lana Payne, Kim Campbell, Shelagh Day, Becka Viau, Bonnie Brayton, Carolyn Bennett, Jessie Housty (standing), El Jones (standing), Maria Mourani, Eva Aariak, R Irene d’Entremont, Hazel McCallion, Pamela Palmater, Catherine Potvin, Natalie Panek, Eman Bare, Mina Mawani (standing) and Margaret-Ann Armour (standing),. Missing from photo, Libby Burnham. Photo by Brian Simpson.

Visionaries include:

Becka Viau, Artist

Bonnie Brayton, Executive Director DisAbled Women’s Network

The Honourable Dr. Carolyn Bennett, Member of Parliament

Dr. Catherine Potvin, Professor McGill University

Crystal Fraser, Gwich’in PhD Candidate

El Jones, Poet

Eman Bare, Journalist

Eva Aariak, former Premier of Nunavut

Hazel McCallion, Mayor of Mississauga

R. Irene d’Entremont, President, ITG Information Management Inc.

Jessie Housty, Heiltsuk Community Organizer

The Right Honourable Kim Campbell, former Prime Minister of Canada

Kluane Adamek, Fellow- Jane Glassco Northern Fellowship, Walter and Duncan Gordon Foundation

Lana Payne, Atlantic Regional Director Unifor

Libby Burnham, Chancellor Acadia University

Dr. Margaret-Ann Armour, Professor University of Alberta

The Honourable Maria Mourani, Member of Parliament

Mina Mawani, Executive Business Leader

Natalie Panek, Rocket Scientist

Nazanin Afshin-Jam MacKay, Human Rights Activist

Dr. Pamela Palmater, Mi’kmaw Lawyer

Shelagh Day, Human Rights Expert and Activist

The database is protected by copyright © 2016
send message

    Main page